BTEC National Diploma For IT Practitioners (Incorporating National Award)

West Herts College
In Watford (England)

Price on request

Important information

  • BTEC
  • Watford (England)
  • Duration:
    2 Years

Suitable for: It will be suitable for 16-19 years olds, who have already decided that they wish to enter this area of work.

Important information

Requirements: Four GCSEs at grade A*-C, including Maths and English, or a Merit grade from either GNVQ, or First Diploma in ICT, plus a reference from your current school or college, and a range of relevant assessments at interview.


Where and when

Starts Location

Langley Road, WD17 4YH , Hertfordshire, England
See map

What you'll learn on the course

Basic IT

Course programme

Course suitability

It will be suitable for 16-19 years olds, who have already decided that they wish to enter this area of work.

Information about the course

Prepares learners for employment, or higher study in the IT sector. The course lasts for two years of full-time study: Year 1 is the National Award for IT Practitioners; Year 2 is the National Diploma for IT Practitioners (Course code 8729D/2).  Students must pass the National Award before progressing to the National Diploma.  Units are assessed generally by means of coursework assignments.

The National Award for IT Practitioners introduces learners to the skills needed to make effective use of computers in a business environment. This covers many aspects of the operation and use of Hardware, Operating Systems, Application Software, System Design & Configuration, together with essential supporting skills.  Students on the National Diploma will be working with Industry Standard Software, including Visual Basic, Dreamweaver, Flash and the full range of Microsoft Office Applications.

Course content

Your course of study over two years will cover the following ground:-


The first semester is an introduction to the main knowledge and skills required to get you successfully started on your course.  You will also establish the study skills, which will be needed throughout your time at West Herts College.  The units covered are:

Unit 1 – Communication and Employability Skills in IT: Explore non-technical soft skills and exploit ICT to communicate effectively;
Unit 2 – Computer Systems: Introduction to internals of a PC;
Unit 3 – Information Systems: The use of information in organisations;
Unit 5 – Advanced Database Skills;
Unit 54 – Cisco CCNA 1 (Discovery).

Now we consolidate our knowledge of Computer systems and move into several other interesting areas:


Unit 18 – Principles of Software Design and Development: Concepts of program design and implementation;
Unit 21 – Website Production and Management: Create dynamic Internet websites;
Unit 24 - Digital Graphics and Computers: Production and reproduction of images;
Unit 26 - Computer Animation: Creating moving images via the use of computers;
Unit 28 - IT Technical Support: Resolve technical problems and improve the performance of IT systems.


Unit 8 - Communication Technologies: Communication in wireless devices, games consoles and mobile phones;
Unit 10 - Client Side Customisation of Web Pages: Creation of web pages having some compliance with web standards;
Unit 15 - Organisational Systems Security: Ensuring the security of computer systems.

The course concludes with a look at some different aspects of computer systems:


Unit - 12 Developing Computer Games: Designing, developing and testing computer game solutions;
Unit - 14 Controlling Systems with IT: Implement control systems;
Unit - 29 IT Systems Troubleshooting and Repair: Troubleshoot and repair IT systems for hardware and software faults;
Unit 34 - E-commerce: Business conducted using the Internet, intranets, extranets, or a combination of these.


A portfolio of work, online assessments.


Progression from this qualification may be to employment, or to a Higher National Diploma or Degree course in IT or a related subject.