Joint Astronomy Program

In Bangalore

Price on request
You can also call the Study Centre
80236... More

Important information

  • Course
  • Bangalore

Important information

Where and when

Starts Location
On request
Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore , 560012, Karnataka, India
See map

Course programme

The Physics Department of IISc is the host of this programme. All students in the programme remain registered with IISc.

Every year a few students are selected for this programme by a committee with members from different collaborating institutes. The selected students undergo course work for one year taught by faculty members from collaborating institutes. After the successful completion of course work, a student has the freedom to join a research supervisor in any of the collaborating institutes.

The broad guidelines of running this programme are decided by a Policy Committee constituted by the Directors of the collaborating institutes. The regular activities of this programme are monitored by a Programme Coordination Committee (PCC), chaired by the Chairman of Physical and Mathematical Sciences Division IISc and having one representative from each institute. The present members of PCC are: Ajay Sood (Chairman of Physical and Mathematical Sciences Division IISc), Arnab Rai Choudhuri (Convener and IISc representative), Dipankar Bhattacharya (RRI), Harish Bhatt (IIA), P. Sreekumar (ISRO) and Rajaram Nityananda (TIFR).

Semester I (August-December)

Fundamentals of Astrophysics
Radiative Processes in Astrophysics
Fluid Mechanics and Plasma Physics
Experimental Astronomy

Semester II (January-April)

Galactic and Extragalactic Astronomy
General Relativity and Cosmology
High Energy Astrophysics

Achievements for this centre