M.A in Sociology

The University of Mysore
In Mysore

Price on request
You can also call the Study Centre
82124... More
Compare this course with other similar courses
See all

Important information

  • Master
  • Mysore
  • Duration:
    2 Years

Important information

Where and when

Starts Location
On request
Vishwavidyalaya Karyasoudha Crawford Hall, 570007, Karnataka, India
See map

Course programme

The University of Mysore became the first University outside the domain of the English administration in India, the sixth University in India as a whole, and the first ever University in Karnataka. During the institution of the University in 1916, four faculties were constituted viz., Arts, Science, Engineering and Technology, and Medicine. Seperate Boards of Studies and Boards of Examiners were constituted in 28 subjects. The University was also administering 12 other educational institutions.

To strengthen the research and training activities in the field of Social Work the University of Mysore established an independent Department of Studies in Social Work in January 1990, bifurcating the Social Work Course from the PG Department of Sociology.

The department was set up 50 years ago in Maharaja's College, and then shifted to the postgraduate campus in 1965. The subject was initially taught in Maharaja's College just as a part of social philosophy in the undergraduate department of Philosophy. Over the years, the department grew so extensively that it gave birth to two other independent postgraduate departments - the Department of Anthropology and the Department of Social Work - in the University.

Achievements for this centre

Compare this course with other similar courses
See all