In Nagpur

Price on request


  • Type


  • Location


  • Duration

    2 Years



Start date

Nagpur (Maharashtra)
See map
Nagpur, 440001

Start date

On request

Questions & Answers

Add your question

Our advisors and other users will be able to reply to you

Who would you like to address this question to?

Fill in your details to get a reply

We will only publish your name and question


Course programme


The College of Agriculture, Nagpur, is one of the oldest college in the country established in the year 1906 by British Government. It is one of the first five Agriculture Colleges in the country. The other four colleges were located at Pusa, Kanpur, Coimbatore, Lyallpore (Pakistan). The college is situated in the important citrus belt of the country and was opened to develop agriculture technology, educate, train and generate specialised agricultural experts and to cater the needs of the local farming community and to impart agricultural education to students. The College have also celebrated its Centenary in the year 2005. The college was initially under the administrative control of the Department of Agriculture, Maharashtra State and affiliated to the Nagpur University. The main building of the college was earlier known as Victoria Technical Institute building. Later on the affiliation as well as administrative control shifted to Dr. Panjabrao Deshmukh Krishi Vidyapeeth, Akola during the year 1969. The institute is now under the dynamic leadership of Hon'ble Dr. V. M. Mayande, Vice Chancellor Dr. P.D.K.V., Akola. Presently institution is headed by Prof. Dr. Vandan Mohod, Dean, College of Agriculture, Nagpur.

The Nagpur district lies between 20035' and 210 44' N latitude and 78015' and 79040' E longitude and stretched over an area of 9930 The city is well connected with air, rail and road ways. The College of Agriculture, Nagpur is situated near the Zero Mile - The Middle point of India. College is 2 km away from Nagpur railway station, 4 km from main bus stop, 9 km from Nagpur international airport.

Library : In 1987, a separate building for the college library was constructed. It has a Reading Hall, Books Stacks, Back Volumes of Periodicals, Reference Section, Thesis Section. The book collection of college library is 59185 which includes text books, reference books, periodicals, thesis, etc.
VTI Library : The history of Agriculture and Industries, Society in Nagpur traces back to year 1901, when Her Majesty Impress Queen Victoria expired in 1901 grand subscriptions were raised in the Central Provinces to commemorate her name. An amount of Rs.2.00 lakhs was raised for the Society, out of which Rs.75000 were allotted for the part construction of Victoria Technical Institute (VTI) building situated in the Maharajbagh, Nagpur. VTI scientific library was founded in 1902 by then C.P. & Berar Government with the object to develop and improve agriculture and industries of the region and to disseminate and promote the technical and scientific knowledge. It has a stock of 3500 books and 6000 Journals. It has also 2000 odd books including gazetteers of India and Afghanistan.

Under Graduate Programme: The Maharashtra Council of Agricultural Education and Research (MCAER), Pune is a statutory body constituted under section 12 of Maharashtra Agricultural Universities Act, 1983 in exercise of the powers conferred upon MCAER in the provision (8) of sub section 3 of the Act. Common rules and regulations for admission to various degree programmes in State Agricultural Universities have been formulated. B.Sc. (Agri.) degree programme is of 4 years duration spread over 8 semesters with credit load of 163, and eligibility for the course is XII standard science passed in 10+2 pattern from Maharashtra State Board of Higher Secondary Education or equivalent examination with Physics, Chemistry, Biology and English, with optional subject Mathematics. The medium of instruction is English. The 1st and 2nd semester normally starts in the month of July and January respectively. Intake capacity of the UG programme is 172.

Post Graduate Programme: The post graduate programme leading to the M.Sc.(Agri) degrees in 9 disciplines are offered. The M.Sc.(Agri) programme is of two years duration spread over 4 semesters.


Price on request