M.A.in Sociology

University of Hyderabad
In Hyderabad

Price on request
You can also call the Study Centre
40231... More
Compare this course with other similar courses
See all

Important information

  • Master
  • Hyderabad

Important information

Where and when

Starts Location
On request
500046, Andhra Pradesh, India
See map

Course programme

The School of Social Sciences comprises the following Departments and Centres.

1) Department of Economics
2) Department of History
3) Department of Political Science
4) Department of Sociology
5) Department of Anthropology
6) Centre for Regional Studies
7) Centre for Folk Culture Studies
8) Centre for the Study of Indian Diaspora
9) Centre for Study of Social Exclusion and Inclusive Policy
10) Centre for Gandhian Economic Thought

Among these, the Departments of Economics, Political Science and Sociology have been recognised by the University Grants Commission for the Special Assistance Programme.

In addition, the School has Human Rights Programme functioning under the auspices of Political Science Department and a Centre for Indian Diaspora. The School of Social Sciences also has a interdisciplinary Women's Studies Cell which takes up research projects on gender issues. An Archival Cell with the support of the UGC is functioning under the auspices the Department of History for preservation of rare and valuable manuscripts. The Department of Anthropology has developed a museum as a teaching aid for students. All the departments are equipped with e-mail and internet facilities.

From the Academic Year 2007-2008 the School of Social Sciences is starting a Five Year Integrated Programme in Social Sciences leading to masters degree in Economics, History, Political Science, Sociology and Anthropology. For the first three years the students admitted to the programme will do courses offered by various departments in the School and other schools in the University. At the end of three years students will branch out to departments of Economics, History, Political Science, Sociology and Anthropology after fulfilling the credit requirement, stipulated by the departments.

Department of Sociology

While emphasizing topics and themes central to the discipline, the Department's teaching and research activities have been oriented towards contemporary questions that have both basic and applied dimensions. The endeavour is to stress inter-disciplinary exchange with other disciplines in the school. The Department has had a Special Assistance Progrmme (DRS-II) supported by the U.G.C., in the thrust areas of social identities, globalisation and the idea of 'public space'. This has been recently upgraded to DSA-I status (2007-2012), with a special focus on themes of globalization and public and public space.

Three programmes of study are offered leading to the M.A., M.Phil and Ph.D. degrees in Sociology. The department will participate in the Five Year Integrated Masters Programme in Social Sciences from 2007-2008. At the end of 3 years students will join the department for the M.A. degree.

M.A.in Sociology

The M.A. programme in Sociology is a four semester programme spread over two years and consists of 10 compulsory courses and 6 optional courses (equivalent to 4 credits each). Students may be allowed to take upto three of the six optional courses from other departments subject to the permission of the Head of the Department.

The compulsory courses for M.A. include: Classical Sociological Theory, Social Stratification, Research Methods I, Indian Society I, Social Change in Modern India, Modern Sociological theory, Research Methods II, Population and Society, Sociology of Development, Urban Sociology.

In addition the following optional courses are offered:

The optional courses for M.A. include: NGOs and Development; Environment and Sustainable Development; Indian Diaspora; Sociology of Gender; Sociology of Health; Sickness and Healing; Rural Society and Agrarian Change; People, Nation and State; Law; State and Society; Industrial Relations and Contemporary Capitalism; Science, Culture and Society; Technology, Culture and Society; and Sociology of Communication: Sociology of Organisation.

Achievements for this centre

Compare this course with other similar courses
See all